Advanced Configuration (Settings)

Introduction

Advanced Configuration can be accessed by clicking 'Advanced Configuration' under the Settings menu in the upper right corner of the screen.

Click 'Advanced Configuration'

Under Advanced Configuration, you can access:

  • Logging
  • Move Routes Between Integrations
  • Import Artifact Pair Information

Under General Settings, you can access:

  • Configuration
  • Email Notifications
  • License
  • Master Password Configuration
  • Storage Settings


Under Extensions, you can access:

  • Extensions
  • Key-Value Stores

Logging 

For troubleshooting purposes, Tasktop logs various events that the application performs.

There are two logging levels available:

  • Normal: This is sufficient for most scenarios. 
  • Troubleshooting: This setting provides more detailed logs.  Due to the large volume of logs created during Troubleshooting logging, this option has a time limit with a maximum of 24 hours. If Troubleshooting level is selected, the Normal logging level can be enabled at any time by clicking the 'Stop Troubleshooting Now' button.

Updating the logging levels immediately changes the logging granularity.  Tasktop does not need to be restarted for the change to take effect.

Default Logging Enabled

Troubleshooting Logging Enabled

Troubleshooting Logging Enabled

Downloading Logs

Please reference the Troubleshooting page for instructions on downloading the logs as part of the Support and Usage Report.

Move Routes Between Integrations 

There may be rare scenarios when you must move routes from an existing integration to another integration.  For example, you may have configured Tasktop incorrectly and mistakenly created multiple integrations which should be combined into one.  Or you could be upgrading Micro Focus (HPE) ALM, which requires moving projects from an instance running an old version of ALM to a server running a newer instance of ALM.  Since existing projects are moved to a completely new ALM instance with a different URL, users must create a new repository connection, collection(s), and integration(s) in Tasktop.  Once the new integration is created, existing routes must be migrated to prevent the risk of duplicate artifacts.  This feature will allow users to easily migrate routes from an existing integration to a new one.

To move routes from one integration to another, they must both:

  • be synchronize integrations
  • use the same artifact types
  • use the same repository connections (except for Micro Focus/HPE ALM connections used in an upgrade scenario)

(lightbulb) We recommend stopping both integrations before moving routes so that you can review your mappings and configuration before running.

To use this feature click 'Move Routes.'

Click 'Move Routes'

Select your source integration:

Select Source Integration

Then select your target integration:

Select Target Integration

Select the routes from the source integration that you'd like to move to the target integration.  Once moved, they will no longer exist in the source integration.  Click 'Move' in the upper right corner.

Select Routes and Click 'Move'

Review the pop-up message and if approved, click 'I understand...' and 'Move.'  This process may take some time.  Progress can be tracked on the Background Jobs tab of the Activity Screen.

Once the move is complete, review your integration configuration, field mappings, etc, before clicking 'run' on the target integration.

Import Artifact Pair Information 

Importing artifact pairs allows Tasktop Integration Hub to know about existing artifact pairs that were created by Tasktop Sync. This prevents duplicate artifacts from being created when you switch from using Tasktop Sync to Tasktop Integration Hub to administer your integrations.

Please contact Tasktop Support for additional information on how to use this capability.

Upgrade Backup Files 

This feature is not applicable to Tasktop Cloud and is only available when upgrading from Tasktop Integration Hub versions 20.1 and later. 

Upgrading backup files enables you to download and upload artifact data in cases where integrations were resumed individually during an upgrade. The downloaded data corresponds to artifacts that were modified when migrations were still running. These files capture any synchronization activity that occurred on individually running integrations, so that you can ensure no updates are duplicated if restoring from backup.

Learn more about utilizing this capability here.